The Rockford Police Department is under the command of Chief Daniel G. O’Shea and has an authorized strength of 302 sworn officers. Rockford Police Department members are committed to reducing crime and enhancing the quality of life through an active partnership with our community.

Emergency: 911

Non-Emergency (Requesting an officer response): 815-966-2900

Administration, Community Services, Detective Bureau, District 1, District 2, District 3, Patrol, Shift Commander, Traffic, Domestic Violence, Evidence and Property, Records, Recruiting, Narcotics:

District Stations

Administration Headquarters and District 3 Station:

557 S. New Towne Drive, Rockford, IL 61108

District 1 Station:

1045 W. State Street, Rockford, IL 61102

District 2 Station:

1410 Broadway, Rockford, IL 61104

Front Desk Hours:

Monday-Friday: 8:00 a.m. – 6:00 p.m.

Saturday: 9:00 a.m. – 1:00 p.m.

Community Perceptions of Public Safety and Police Survey

The City of Rockford and Winnebago County are working with the Region 1 Planning Council and Loyola University to get your opinion on crime. The survey is voluntary, anonymous, and will take approximately 10 minutes to complete. Survey participants must be 18 years of age or older, and either work, live, or attend school in Rockford, IL. If you are willing, please access the survey by clicking here for English and here for Spanish

Lend your voice to make a difference!

The Fire and Police Commission

The Fire and Police Commission oversees hiring and promotions within the Rockford Police and Fire Departments
If you’re interested in a career with the Rockford Police Department visit our recruiting site by clicking here.

Please call 815-319-6000 to contact the Winnebago County Jail.