Ward Redistricting

City Council recently passed a new ward map. Here’s everything you need to know.

Why is it necessary to redistrict?

Every 10 years, the U.S. Census Bureau conducts a count designed to record each resident in the United States. The 2020 decennial Census revealed population shifts between the wards within the City of Rockford, and as such, state law requires adjustments to the current ward boundaries prior to the next City election. 

Who created the new Ward map?

The Redistricting Committee – a bipartisan committee made up of 4th Ward Alderman Kevin Frost, 7th Ward Alderwoman Janessa Wilkens, 10th Ward Alderman Frank Beach and 14th Ward Alderman Mark Bonne – created the new map based on input from aldermen and community. The redistricting committee meetings were published as public meetings and open to the public.  Upon drafting the proposed map, it was published for additional public comment and available for review on the City’s website and in person at City Hall, as well as the East Branch, Montague Branch, and Hart Interim Branch of the Rockford Public Library.

When does the new district map become effective?
The new map will be effective during the next aldermanic election, which will occur in 2025. Prior to then, citizens and properties will remain represented by their existing Alderman.

New Ward Map

For a pdf of the map, click here.